Daily Archives: September 21, 2014

Kia Ora

Standard

Hello, hello, hello!

Before I talk about New Zealand, I wanted to share this video of R running in the rain in Kuala Lumpur, but the Internet is super slow, so I will just post some photos. It takes 10-15 min to upload 2 photos. R and I didn´t sleep at all during our last night in Kuala Lumpur. We just chilled on the roof in our guest house.

10 hour flight from Kuala Lumpur to Auckland went really fast. I guess we were really tired and we slept a lot, which is a miracle for me (I cannot sleep in public transportation). Immigration process went really quickly and without problems. They didn´t ask many questions and were really friendly. In the airport one of the immigration officer called Maarja, but he didn´t say Maarja. He said Martsja 😀 (j sound in English) Of course, we couldn´t leave it like that. So we started calling her Martsja, but soon it developed into  Marša or Maša (Marsha or Masha). Now she has a new nickname 😀

DSC_5934

We got a good deal to get from the airport to Jucy Hotel. This hotel is definitely a step up from our Guest House in Kuala Lumpur. There are no holes in the toilet, just regular toilet seats and there is actually pressure when you take a shower. I really like the logos and designs for Jucy Hotel.

We woke up around noon and walked around. Our hotel is in the center of the city, so everything is super close. The city is clean and streets are organized. Weather is chilly, but I like it because you can actually breathe. We ate breakfast at Hollywood bakery. L had bacon, eggs and toast, we had toasted muesli and coffee. Delicious! On Monday, we are going to apply for the IRD number, which is needed for our jobs. We visited the public library. They have free wifi there 😉 another yay! Also, we have a NZ phone number now.

L,R, and Maarja went to the Sky Tower. I didn´t go and can´t tell you how it was, so I am just going to post photos:

 

We went to the store to get something for breakfast and as we were leaving the store, one woman offered us marshmellows and said: ´Welcome to New Zealand.´ Welcome indeed!